Australian Catholic University

Australian Catholic University commenced operation on 1 January 1991 and has seven campuses, located in Adelaide, Ballarat, Brisbane, Canberra, Melbourne, and Sydney (2). The University was formed by the amalgamation of four Catholic institutions of higher education in eastern Australia, and is incorporated as a company limited by guarantee (Australian Catholic University Ltd).

The University had its origins in the mid-1800s when religious orders and institutes began preparing teachers, and later nurses, for Catholic institutions. Through a series of amalgamations, relocations, transfers of responsibilities, and diocesan initiatives, more than 20 historical entities have contributed to the creation of Australian Catholic University.

The University is a public university, open to all, is a Table A listed higher education provider under the Higher Education Support Act 2003, and is a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities, and the International Federation of Catholic Universities. The University is a member of Universities Australia (formerly the Australian Vice-Chancellors’ Committee).

The University has four faculties that reflect areas of strength, growth and the University’s mission. These are: Health Sciences, Education and Arts, Theology and Philosophy and Law and Business.

In 2013, the University had 25,418 students, 944 academic staff and 906 general staff.

Page last updated: 29 Jun 2017

Short url: